貧窮



入圍作品


趙峰 - 貧窮線 – 香港

趙峰
個人履歷

趙峰很榮幸能透過鏡頭來觀察世界,他是一位眼光獨到兼感情豐富的攝影師。

趙峰與經濟學家林惠義合作的貧窮線項目,贏得阿爾勒攝影沙龍大獎,並曾出任阿爾勒國際攝影節常駐藝術家。他的作品於北京三影堂攝影藝術中心、檳城、新加坡及科隆等畫廊展出。此項目獲多份媒體報導,包括美國國家公共廣播電台、外交政策、新華社和新加坡商業時報等。趙峰獲邀在2012 [email protected]上海論壇演講,介紹貧窮線項目。

他曾經榮獲PDN、Billboard、國際攝影大獎(International Photo Awards)、Photographie de la Paris 等攝影獎項,亦是在東京進行的尼康(Nikon)攝影比賽評判。他的客戶包括The Smithsonian、時代雜誌、Geo Germany、英國衛報以及其他商業客戶。

趙峰25歲登上全球最高的珠穆朗瑪峰,亦是探索家協會的成員。

他在北京及新加坡生活。

趙峰
項目說明

貧窮線 – 香港

這項創作的主體是探索一個簡單的問題,怎樣才算是貧窮?

這並不是用情感分析什麼是窮人,而是比較窮人在生活上有什麼選擇。項目與經濟學家林惠義聯合進行,確保收集的數據準確,現正擴大到六大洲,包括香港在內的16個國家城市。我們不是試圖比較不同國家的貧困狀況,而是在同一個起點上,了解一個國家的貧困境況。對於已發展國家,由於較易更新消費數據,我們主要集中比較,生活在貧窮線上的人,平均每人每日花費在食物上的金額。

一個框架。一個人。一天。

一切留待觀眾來解讀。

港幣$44.96元(美金$5.77, 歐元£4.01)可以買到幾多食物?這是根據香港每月住戶入息中位數一半以下所推算出來的貧窮線,再換算生活在貧窮線上的人(即低收入戶),一人一日可購買食物的開支。 目前香港未有官方貧窮線,不過相關工作已交由2012年12月重設的扶貧委員會跟進。 政府現時以24個多元化指標來分析貧窮數據,不單計算個人收入,同時考慮教育開支以及兒童所受的社會支持度等數據。相關數據主要由香港統計處所進行的綜合住戶統計調查,以及從社會福利署收集。香港社會服務聯會一直關注本港貧窮及社福等議題,並致力協調非牟利社福機構的相互合作。 附註: 相關價格及兌換率,乃根據拍攝相片當日 (2011年七月)而釐訂。

POVERTY



Finalist


Stefen Chow - The Poverty Line – Hong Kong

Stefen Chow
Biography

Grateful to be a witness through his camera, Stefen is a photographer with an unique eye and effervescent personality.

The Poverty Line project, done in conjunction with economist Lin Hui-Yi, won the grand prize at the Arles Photography Open Salon, and was awarded an artist residency during the Les Rencontres d’Arles. The photographic project has since been exhibited at the Three Shadows Photography Art Center in Beijing, and various galleries in Penang, Singapore and Cologne. It has been featured in numerous media transcending conventional photography-based media, including NPR, Foreign Policy, Xinhua and Singapore Business Times. The project was also presented at [email protected], a global talent search by TED in 2012.

Stefen’s work has been recognized with awards by PDN, Billboard, International Photo Awards, Photographie de la Paris. He, himself, is one of the judges for the Tokyo-based Nikon Photo Contest. His clients include The Smithsonian, Time Magazine, Geo Germany, The Guardian, and various commercial companies.

At the age of 25, Stefen climbed to the summit of Mount Everest; he is a member of the Explorers Club,

Stefen currently lives between Beijing and Singapore.

Stefen Chow
Project Statement

The Poverty Line – Hong Kong

This body of work explores a simple question: What does it mean to be poor?

It is not an emotional statement. It is an examination of the choices one faces living at the poverty line. I work with an economist, Lin Hui-Yi, to ensure factual and statistical consistency. We have documented this project in 16 countries – including Hong Kong – across six continents. We are not trying to compare different countries’ poverty, but rather to have a starting point to understand poverty within a country’s context. For developed countries, where there is relatively updated household consumption data, we focus on the average daily amount that a person at the poverty line would spend on food.

One frame. One person. One day.

Everything else is left up to interpretation.

HKD $44.96 (USD $5.77, EUR£4.01) for food. This is based on a per capita per-day basis of a poverty indicator for Hong Kong (half of the median average household income), and low-income household food expenditure. Hong Kong currently does not have an official poverty line, but this is expected to come into place under the Commission on Poverty which was newly re-established in December 2012. There is presently, however, an official poverty analysis framework uses a multi-dimensional approach to monitor 24 poverty indicators, which includes educational and child social support rates in addition to income indicators. Poverty indicator statistics are mainly collected by the Census and Statistics Department through the General Household Survey and the Social Welfare Department. Poverty and social welfare issues are monitored and championed by the Hong Kong Council of Social Service, which is the overall coordinating body for social service NGOs in Hong Kong. Note: Latest available standards and exchange rates were taken as of July 2011, when the photography was undertaken.